Toaster Toss

26 Mar

When Matt and I moved into to our apartment we focused on the essentials: record player: check, exercise equipment: check, pretty bowls for serving food: check!

Ok so not totally.

One “essential” that we didn’t include was a toaster. It wasn’t a conscious decision. I was looking around for a pretty one and of course Matt, my forever thrifty boyfriend was happy not to spend any more money.

Our bread consumption dropped tenfold. I went from making toast every morning and sandwiches for lunch to now almost never having any bread. At first I did miss it a bit, but not really enough to warrant buying a new toaster. There is a loaf of bread in our freezer that has been there for almost three months and I’m not the least bit interested.

What I have noticed is how much better my constitution works. Once a day, like clockwork – this did not happen when I was eating toast all the time. It would be more like every three days which now I can’t believe.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m not totally done with bread. I don’t believe in food extremism. I find when I cut something out entirely I often overeat other foods to compensate. So bread is still ok but what I am done with making it part of my regular daily diet. We still make our own homemade pizzas once a week for date night and I will have a sandwich once a week if I’m out somewhere and it looks really good.

I’m a big believer in making your life easy to be healthy and difficult to be unhealthy. It’s now more difficult for me to turn on the oven and broil toast the bread than it is to make a salad.

So toss your toasters! Or just move it out of sight for a few weeks and see if you miss it.

2 Responses to “Toaster Toss”

  1. Danielle March 26, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    Nice post. I did away with gluten a few weeks ago and haven’t looked back since. Not eating bread, etc. has really made me more creative in the kitchen!

  2. cathypreston March 29, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Brilliant – out of sight out of mind! When ours give up the ghost they will be tossed for ever!

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

