Don’t Throw in the Towel

15 Mar

I am now convinced that age is merely a number.

I train 50 year olds that easily could pass as 20-somethings in the gym. And I’ve trained 20-somethings that could pass as 50 year olds. It is so evident to me the difference regular exercise makes in the aging process. I see firsthand it is essential.

If you wake up in the morning and you’re aching, sore, tired, bloated, or generally miserable chances are you’re not working out, or not working out hard enough – it’s not because you’re old. It’s unfortunate that somewhere along the line we seem to be taking in this weird message that workouts should be somewhat leisurely. I’m here to tell you that this is a lie. You need to sweat! Within 10 minutes of starting your workout you should be dripping. It’s vital that you keep challenging yourselves and not allow your workouts to get passive. I’m always upping the anti on my intervals, never settling with what I did for my last workout. Keep it exciting and your body will stay interested and keep changing.

In my training experience I’ve seen people let themselves off the hook with the age card. They throw in the towel after their first job gets stressful or life’s struggles get in the way. I tell them not blame the fact that they’re getting older on lowering the intensity because it is baloney! 50 is the new 25, you are young – but you need to workout to stay that way.
For you 20-somethings reading this, stay with it now! It is SO much easier maintaining than starting from ground zero. 30 minutes a day will go a long way 30 years from now! For some inspiration have a look at this couple!

If you’re looking for some suggestions to up the intensity give this a try.

What if the rest of your life was the best of your life?

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

