Are you too Busy?

12 Mar

Do you feel like you’re running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off? Do you not have a second to spare to exercise?

I admit, lately I have felt a bit like a crazed headless chicken. Then I read this.

The last paragraph really hit home for me: What we need to do is change our language. Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to clean the kitchen, it’s just not a priority. But other things are harder. Try it: “I can’t exercise today because my health is not a priority.” “This week I ate poorly because my well being is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.

The truth is we need to make our priorities a priority again. In the modern world of facebook, twitter, pinterest, blogs, and more we can easily get sucked into the vortex and not realize how much time we aimlessly waste doing menial things.

Exercise is a non-negotiable, you’ll feel better and be more productive. I’m going to work on re-shifting my focus to my priorities … as for my kitchen, it will be cleaned eventually!

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

