Sweet Potato Frites

2 Feb

These are AMAZING!

Here are two options on how to cook up these little delights. The first option is healthy, the second option is not so healthy but they are UNREAL, best I’ve ever had … and I’ve had a lot of samples.

Inspired by Cooks Illustrated Frites

Serves 2 pigs or 4 normal people 

Take one large sweet potato and cut it into frites – with the skin on

Then dump the frites in a bowl of ice water and leave in the fridge for at least an hour (and as long as overnight).

Take your frites out of the fridge and drain out the water.

Now you have a choice….

If you want to be good:

Coat your well towel dried frites in olive oil and bake them in a 400 oven for 30 minutes tossing ever 10 minutes and they will be delicious.

If you want to be bad … follow me:

Coat the frites in 2 tbsp of cornstarch

In a dutch oven or cast iron pan (what I use) start to heat on high your safflower oil (1L)

You will know the oil is hot enough when the frites bubble when placed inside the pot (takes 5-10 minutes)

Ahhh look at them go! I put half my batch in and let them cook for 4 minutes.

Transfer the frites onto a baking sheet and cook the second batch for 4 minutes.

Now for the KEY … take your first batch back into the pan and fry for another 2 minutes – YUM double crispyness…

Note: the left side have been through the pan twice, the right side only once … big difference in taste!

Et Volia!

I think brussel sprouts taste like candy and the chicken was dipped in milk and coated in ezikel bread crumbs. All in all a delicious meal! I LOVE FRITES!!

Do you love frites as much as I do?

One Response to “Sweet Potato Frites”

  1. Ian February 2, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    I wasn’t hungry when I started reading this article and now that I have I’m craving sweet potato frites!
    You’ve gotta love that “everything in moderation” philosophy!

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

