Keep your Eye on the Prize!

1 Feb

New years resolutions will come and go, but REAL transformation has no season. 

It’s February and as much as I love the fact that I’m now alone in the gym at 6:15 am I’m urging you resolutionites to hang in there! Don’t let yourself go this winter – spring will be an uphill battle – it is way easier to maintain than it is to gain and try to lose it again … trust me I’ve tried this theory!

If you’re looking to slim down, eat better or get ripped, here are a few essential guidelines to follow to keep you on track:

DETERMINE

What is your target? What is your dream goal? Start setting specific measurement goals … I want to fit into my size 8 pants again, I will weigh 145 lbs, I will have a 50 inch chest like Arnold.

PLAN

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail. I’m a big planner, even though I’m a trainer I still plan every single workout I do. I write down what I plan to do before each workout and commit to following that guide. If I have nothing in front of me I dilly dally around and get nothing done. Make a list of workouts you would like to do at the start of the week and check them off as you go, like to do lists – it’s fun!

VISUALIZE

Picture yourself completing that half marathon, wearing your wedding dress, popping the sleeve on your dress shirt because you’re now the Hulk, etc. Think Big! Imagine your friends and family surrounding you with their congratulations and support. Visualize in every single detail and expect change.

BELIEVE

Now believe you can. If you don’t … nobody will. You have to desire change and know that it will be very difficult, accept that reality and see yourself moving beyond that.

DAILY

Plan to exercise every single day. Life will get in the way once or twice a week but for the most part you will find the time to fit it in. When you plan to exercise 2 or 3 times per week if you miss one session you’re not likely to see progress. Even if it’s only for 20 minutes that will go a long way.

We still have 11 months left this year. Why not make the rest of 2012 the best of 2012? Carpe 2012! 

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

