The Model Regression

20 Jan

A couple of weeks ago I decided it would be a good idea to watch part of the Victoria Secret fashion show. Instead of leaving me envious of the models the show left me feeling hungry. I figured I might be able to feed the models through osmosis so I had some ice cream … don’t think that works.

Here are the three most popular angels right now at a swimwear launch. I mean come on! Eat a sandwich and do some burpees!

The twig-thin ideal was famously launched by Twiggy in the 1960s. From there supermodels’ sizes have gone up and down.

For awhile in the modeling world it seemed like role models were starting to get back on track…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And by the looks of things now we’re in a model weight regression.

I have many female clients who are absolutely gorgeous and still think they need to lose weight despite being underweight for their height. It’s just nuts!

I must admit it has taken me 23 years to get comfortable with my body and appreciate it for what it is. Now I focus on physical function and less on appearance. In the words of my wise dad, “life isn’t a dress rehearsal”. With this in mind I appreciate what my body does for me on a daily basis and love it for that. It’s no use spending time dwelling on our body image woes, life’s too short and ice cream is too sweet! Exercise and eat clean (90% of the time!) and your body will love you for that.

One Response to “The Model Regression”

  1. Ian January 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    Another wise man, my Grandfather, would often say “everything in moderation” – a very simple and effective adage to live by. There’s no problem enjoying a bowl of ice cream if you also had your 45 minute workout that day!
    I think today’s models are taking the slim look too far. Not only is it unhealthy to be so thin, its also unattractive!

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

