The Date Almond Shake = Delicious!

9 Aug

I have some UBER health nut friends who swear by this place Fresh.

We went about six years ago for the first time and while I was a little hesitant on the whole vegan food idea I feel in LOVE with the date almond shake!

I am currently trying to cut down on my carbs in the morning so this shake is a delicious way for me to start the day!

Makes 1-2 servings:

Blend:

1 – 2 Pre-chopped frozen banannas

1 tbsp maple syrup

4-6 Dates, TIP: soak them in hot water before so that they blend easily

2 heaping tbsp of raw almond butter

1 cup skim milk (they use soy which is great but I don’t always have it in the fridge)

3-4 ice cubes

Optional: 1 scoop of protein powder (I like the vanilla variety)

Also Optional: 1 tbsp Cocoa powder for a chocolate treat, certainly beats a milkshake!

Finish with a dash of cinnamon on top

Drink, love and be healthy!

2 Responses to “The Date Almond Shake = Delicious!”

  1. bootygotbling December 1, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Hey girl! I LOVE Fresh. It’s AMAZING! Try their quinoa-battered onion rings. I don’t even LIKE onion rings and I LOVE these 🙂
    Also- I’m confused about your cutting carbs in the morning statement…. because all the ingredients are carbs. LOL. Do you mean like grain-type carbs?? Like oats, etc??

    • beautyandthebod December 1, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Hey!! Sorry for the confusion – by carbs I mean white stuff – white bread, pasta, etc… – I used to be a big puffy bagel and sugary peanut butter person in the am – terrible! I will certainly try those union rings – sound amazing!!

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

