TRX Suspension Trainer Review and Sample Workout

13 Jul

One caveat before you watch the video: I say “excellent and way to go!” a lot! I didn’t notice this before. I’m used to cheering people on in their training so it’s hard for me to stop that I guess, even when I’m training myself!!

The TRX was originally developed by a Navy SEAL to keep him and his team in shape when they couldn’t get to a gym. So I figured if it’s tough enough for them it will work for me!

Overall it’s a great piece of supplementary equipment, it’s way more challenging than it looks! I’ve loved working out with it, it’s elevated my workouts (literally!)

PROS

  • Challenging workout
  • Low impact, easy on your joints
  • Easy to switch from one exercise to the next
  • It can hold 300lbs+ (Depending on your supporting structure!)
  • Portable

CONS

  • Expensive, retails around $185
  • Difficult to know what angle you should be at and where the straps need to be
  • Tough workout to introduce to beginners
  • Really need to have a good understanding of the TRX, it takes at least 3 workouts to get used to it

SAMPLE WORKOUT

So here’s exactly what I did yesterday:

5 minutes jogging and dynamic warm-up

TRX WORKOUT
RIGHT LEG IN STRAPS
30 Lunges
15  Burpees
30 Squats
15 Single leg squat jumps
LEFT LEG IN STRAPS
30 Lunges
15  Burpees
30 Squats
15 Single leg squat jumps
DROP TRX
30 Seconds Knee ins
30 Seconds runners
-> Repeat 3x
10 V-ups
20 Oblique knee-tucks
–> Repeat 3x
RAISE TRX UP
30 Rows
30 Flys
–> Repeat 3x
30 Push-ups
30 Wood choppes
–> Repeat 3x

RUN 3 km with 5 repetitions of 2 minutes sprinting, 1 minute easy.

Stretches

DONE!!

This was a cardio sample workout on the TRX. I move really quickly though the exercises, my heart rate was elevated the entire time. The total workout including run and warm-up took me less than 45 minutes and I was spent after!

One Response to “TRX Suspension Trainer Review and Sample Workout”

  1. Ian July 13, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    What a great invention – perfect for doing body weight training! I can see why you love it!
    Thx for sharing Christie.

Would love to hear what you think! Please let me know below!

